# Record of the Board of Education of the Columbia School District

# Special Session, 17th day of August, 2016

Volume 43 Page 46

The Board of Education of the School District of Columbia, Boone County, Missouri, met in special session at the Administration Building, 1818 West Worley Street, at the hour of 4:15 p.m., Central Daylight Time, Wednesday, the 17th day of August, 2016. Those in attendance were as follows:

President James Whitt Vice President Jonathan Sessions Member Christine King Member Jan Mees Member Darin Preis Superintendent Dr. Peter Stiepleman

Chief Financial Officer/Chief Operations Officer and Board Treasurer Linda Quinley

Executive Assistant to Chief Financial Officer/Chief Operations Officer and Board Secretary Tracy Davenport

Absent: Member Paul Cushing

Member Helen Wade

### **Call to Order**

The meeting was called to order by President Whitt at 4:16 p.m. Also present were Deputy Superintendent Dr. Dana Clippard, Assistant Superintendent for Elementary Education Ben Tilley, and Director of School Improvement Shelli Adams.

## **Consideration of Agenda**

The first matter of business was consideration of approval of the agenda for the August 17, 2016, meeting of the Board of Education. It was moved by Ms. King that the agenda be approved as presented. The vote was 5 yes—0 no—2 absent.

## **Consideration of Construction Change Orders**

Two construction change orders for the new east elementary school were presented for consideration. It was moved by Ms. Mees that the change orders be approved as presented. Charles Oestreich, Director of Facilities and Construction Services, explained the change orders and responded to questions from the Board. After discussion, the vote was 5 yes—0 no—2 absent. (Copies of the change orders are attached and made a part of the minutes.)

#### Adjournment

There was no further business to come before the Board, and it was moved by Mr. Sessions that the meeting be adjourned. The vote was 5 yes—0 no—2 absent, and the meeting was declared adjourned at 4:29 p.m.

	President	
Attest:		
Secretary		